Objectives

Owing to topographical and climatic conditions of the Alpine area, an efficient and sustainable use of existing resources in terms of area and energy efficiency as well as infrastructure utilization will pose a significant challenge in the future, especially in the State of Salzburg. There is only a limited amount of building land available in Alpine regions. Therefore, using the available space efficiently is all the more important. Solutions that focus on the inner-development of existing residential areas are becoming increasingly relevant in consequence.

The building sector is one of the largest contributors to energy consumption; thus, not only area but also energy efficiency plays a major role when it comes to designing buildings and cities. For these aspects to be considered, crucial steps towards the development of new technologies within the building sector, particularly as far as building envelopes and smart energy systems are concerned, need to be taken via respective research.

The Alpine Building Centre, a cooperation of the Salzburg University of Applied Sciences and the Studio iSPACE of the Research Studios Austria FG, aims to reduce the energy demand by bundling expertise in the field of resource-efficient construction and sustainable residential development. By doing so, the Centre wants to contribute to achieving climate goals and increasing the efficient use of existing areas. Both connecting science to industry and combining construction materials to building technologies are of particular interest to the Centre.

The Alpine Building Centre strives to link the building to all its components and residential environment as far as smart buildings and smart settlement systems are concerned. To this purpose, the Centre is divided into three, interdisciplinarily connected research fields.

en_USEnglish
de_DEGerman en_USEnglish

Ziele

Bedingt durch die topographischen und klimatischen Gegebenheiten des alpinen Raums ist gerade in der Region Salzburg eine effiziente und nachhaltige Nutzung der vorhandenen Ressourcen im Sinne von Flächen- und Energieeffizienz sowie Infrastrukturauslastung eine wesentliche zukünftige Herausforderung. Baulandflächen sind in alpinen Regionen nur begrenzt verfügbar. Umso wichtiger ist es diese Flächen effizient zu nutzen. Diesbezüglich rücken Lösungen, die auf eine Innenentwicklung bestehender Siedlungsflächen zielen in den Vordergrund.

Da der Gebäudebereich einen der größten Energieverbraucher darstellt, besteht neben dem Aspekt der Flächeneffizienz auch ein erheblicher Bedarf Gebäude und Städte energieeffizienter zu gestalten. Dazu müssen über entsprechende Forschung entscheidende Schritte zur Technologieentwicklung in der Baubranche, insbesondere in Bezug auf Gebäudehülle und intelligente Energiesystemen, entwickelt werden.

Das Forschungszentrum Alpines Bauen, als Kooperation zwischen FH Salzburg und dem Studio iSPACE der Research Studios Austria Forschungsgesellschaft mbH, soll durch die Bündelung der Kompetenzen rund um ressourcenschonendes Bauen und nachhaltige Siedlungsentwicklung zu einer Senkung des Energiebedarfes und damit zur Erreichung von Klimazielen beitragen und die effiziente Nutzung vorhandener Flächen steigern. Die Verknüpfung von Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft sowie die Kombination von Baustoffen mit gebäudetechnischen Technologien sind wichtige Aspekte des Zentrums.

Das Forschungszentrum Alpines Bauen, setzt sich als Ziel Gebäude mit all seinen Komponenten und ihrem siedlungsstrukturellen Umfeld im Sinne von Smart Buildings und Smart Settlement Systems intelligent miteinander zu vernetzen. Dazu ist das Zentrum in drei Forschungsschwerpunkte gegliedert, welche auch interdisziplinär vernetzt sind.

de_DEGerman
en_USEnglish de_DEGerman